+94 11 5635582
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

About Us

Who We Are

The Insurance Association of Sri Lanka (IASL) was formed in 1989 with the two states insurance corporations and the three private insurance companies then operated in Sri Lanka namely Sri Lanka Insurance Corporation, National Insurance Corporation, Ceylinco Insurance Company Ltd, CTC Eagle Insurance Company and Union Assurance Limited joining hands.

Today the IASL has grown into a vibrant body, encompassing the 29 registered insurance companies in Sri Lanka.

The Executive Committee of the IASL comprises all CEOs of insurance companies and meets on a monthly basis as per a fixed agenda covering significant matters and new developments pertaining to the industry.

In addition, the following sub committees operate within the purview of the Executive Committee enabling cooperation, knowledge sharing and transfer of best practices between peers.

Our Objectives

  • Bring together all insurers in order to afford opportunities for consultation and co-operation in matters affecting the common interests and welfare of its members and the insuring public.
  • Promote and maintain uniform / sound practices and high ethical standards so as to develop confidence among the insuring public.
  • Create awareness regarding the need and value of insurance among the public.
  • Review and examine insurance practices and techniques in other countries and adopt best practices as applicable to the Sri Lankan market.
  • Monitor legislative / regulatory requirements and make representations to the relevant authorities in order to ensure stability and growth in the industry.
  • Encourage, actively assist and promote professionalism in the insurance industry through education and training by partnering with professional and academic institutions / bodies and reinsurance partners operating in Sri Lanka.

IASL Member Heads

CompanyName of MD/CEODesignation
Allianz Insurance Lanka Ltd. Mr. Gany Subramaniam MD/CEO
Allianz Life Insurance Lanka Ltd. Mr. Gany Subramaniam CEO
Amana Takaful PLC Mr. Fazal Gaffoor CEO
Amana Takaful PLC Mr. Fazal Gaffoor CEO
Amana Takaful Life Ltd Mr. Gehan Rajapakse CEO
Arpico Insurance PLC. Mr. Veville Perera CEO
AIA Insurance Lanka PLC Mr. Nikhil Advani CEO
Ceylinco General Insurance Ltd. Mr Jagath Alwis Director
Ceylinco Life Insurance  PLC Mr. Thushara Ranasinghe CEO
Continental Insurance Lanka Ltd. Mr. Gerry Gunadasa CEO
Cooperative Insurance Co. Ltd Mr. Pubudu Wimalaratne General Manager
Cooplife Insurance Ltd Mr. Sameera Dharmasena CEO
FairFirst Insurance Ltd. Mr. Sanjeev Jha  MD
HNB Assuarance PLC Mr. Deepthi Lokuarachchi MD/CEO
HNB Assurance General Ltd Mr. Deepthi Lokuarachchi MD/CEO
Janashakthi Life Insurance PLC Mr. Jude Fernando CEO
Life Insurance Corporation Lanka Ltd Mr. Subash Pattanayak MD/CEO
LOLC Life Assurance Co.Ltd. Mr. Kithsiri Gunawardena CEO
LOLC General Insurance Ltd. Ms. Dharini Fernando COO
MBSL Insurance Co. Ltd Mr.Lalith Fernando CEO
Orient Insurance Ltd. Mr. Thanuj Edward  CEO
Peoples Insurance Ltd. Mr. Deepal Abeysekera CEO
Sanasa Insurance Co. Ltd Mr. Indika Kiriwandeniya MD
Soft Logic Life Insurance PLC Mr. Iftikar Ahamed MD/CEO
Sri Lanka Insurance cororation Mr. Chandana L Aluthgama CEO
Union Assuarance PLC. Mr. Jude Gomes Director/CEO

Office Bearers

Mr. Upali Samarasinghe

Secretary General IASL


Mr. Ravi Rathnayake

(HNB Assurance PLC)


Ms.Sitari Jayasundara

(HNB Assurance PLC)


Mr. H.A Suraweera

(Ceylinco Life Insurance)


Mr.Dinesh Yogaratnam

(HNB Assuarance PLC)


Mr. Frank Munro

(AIA Insurance Lanka PLC)



Mr. Nuwan Pushpakumara

(Softlogic Life)